Newbie from South Africa - Introducing myself
Close

This is a discussion on Newbie from South Africa - Introducing myself within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hi all, My name is Justin and I am from South Africa, and i am a complete and utter noob. I am interested in starting ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Newbie from South Africa - Introducing myself

Hi all,

My name is Justin and I am from South Africa, and i am a complete and utter noob. I am interested in starting a Cafe Racer project, as i love the idea of taking a bike and making it something completely unique and special to yourself.
    Reading through the forum, I look forward to getting advice from the experienced guys out there, as i am going to need all the help i can get. And in advance, thank you for your time and effort in assisting me.

My ideas for my Cafe Racer were the following:

1. Decide on a bike - the bikes that i have on my list are : Yamaha XJ650, Kawasaki Z650 and a Honda CX500 - Would these be a good place to start?
    2. Begin the search for the selected bike - My plan is to look for a bike that is already in running condition
    3. This might need to be step 2 - learn all i can about the selected bike, history, pros/cons, get an owners manual for the bike
    4. Get to know the bike and start thinking of designs - from all the images i have seen of Cafe Racers - i seem to like the more simplistic/functional designs
    5. Start making small changes towards my design
    6. In between the above seek advice and criticism from the forum.

My plan is not to use the bike as a daily runner, but a weekend bike. I would like something functional though.

Any thoughts and advice you can give me upfront would be greatly appreciated - on bikes to consider, pitfalls, and possibly things that I have not taken into consideration.
    Last edited by gnome3; 01-10-2017 at 03:18 AM.

Hi Justin, have you ever ridden a bike?