Cafe Racer Forum banner

Yamaha XS750 Brake Rebuild

20K views 113 replies 10 participants last post by  FranklinMarquette 
#1 ·
Hey everyone! So I'm rebuilding my Yamaha XS750 and have some questions about brakes. I'm new at this so I didn't want to do anything overly complicated but if it is the best and most logical option I am not adversed to it.

My current plan is to repaint and shine up the stock rotors and maybe have them drilled (anybody know someone who does this?). I will rebuild and powder coat the stock calipers and put SS pistons in all of them with EBC kevlar brake pads and HEL SS lines. I was thinking maybe the Yamaha R1 front and rear master cylinders to pair with this but wasn't sure ... if anybody has any suggestions I'd love to hear them.

It would be close to if not more than $100 to rebuild each caliper. Is it worth it? Or should I go ahead and replace the rotor/caliper combo with something else? The only thing I don't like about that is that I could not find any easy swaps and don't really want to start having to machine parts to make things that aren't supposed to fit fit.

Thanks for the help!

#2 ·
It would be close to if not more than $100 to rebuild each caliper. Is it worth it? Or should I go ahead and replace the rotor/caliper combo with something else? The only thing I don't like about that is that I could not find any easy swaps and don't really want to start having to machine parts to make things that aren't supposed to fit fit.
$100 per caliper is par for the course and honestly it's cheaper than buying a new caliper (Brembo F08s are $130 a caliper and then you still have to figure out how to mount them). I am sure you could get a used caliper but then again you are in the same boat - you should rebuild them before use.