Yamaha XS750 Brake Rebuild
Close

This is a discussion on Yamaha XS750 Brake Rebuild within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey everyone! So I'm rebuilding my Yamaha XS750 and have some questions about brakes. I'm new at this so I didn't want to do anything ...

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Yamaha XS750 Brake Rebuild

Junior Member FranklinMarquette's Avatar

Hey everyone! So I'm rebuilding my Yamaha XS750 and have some questions about brakes. I'm new at this so I didn't want to do anything overly complicated but if it is the best and most logical option I am not adversed to it.

My current plan is to repaint and shine up the stock rotors and maybe have them drilled (anybody know someone who does this?). I will rebuild and powder coat the stock calipers and put SS pistons in all of them with EBC kevlar brake pads and HEL SS lines. I was thinking maybe the Yamaha R1 front and rear master cylinders to pair with this but wasn't sure ... if anybody has any suggestions I'd love to hear them.

It would be close to if not more than $100 to rebuild each caliper. Is it worth it? Or should I go ahead and replace the rotor/caliper combo with something else? The only thing I don't like about that is that I could not find any easy swaps and don't really want to start having to machine parts to make things that aren't supposed to fit fit.

Thanks for the help!

Quote Originally Posted by FranklinMarquette View Post

It would be close to if not more than $100 to rebuild each caliper. Is it worth it? Or should I go ahead and replace the rotor/caliper combo with something else? The only thing I don't like about that is that I could not find any easy swaps and don't really want to start having to machine parts to make things that aren't supposed to fit fit.