Cafe Racer Forum banner

Ok talk me out of it

3K views 22 replies 18 participants last post by  champ 
#1 ·
So a guy I know has offered to trade me a 74 Iron Head sportster for a running cb750. He was riding the bike last week when he lost spark. MY cb750 is a 78 F on the other hand, with low miles, and is in super shape but I never use it and have considered selling it several times in the last couple of years.

#3 ·
pure anecdote: a guy I have bought parts from owns several triumphs and older harleys. he has always advised me to avoid ironheads in favor of other versions due to reliability issues.

I have no personal experience with HD aside from this, however. I have been considering picking up a '76 sportster myself since the price is right.

#4 ·
I like the old Iron Head Sportsters, when they are running. I had a combonation of a 71 though a 75 with only kick. the thing would run great at 70 degrees, but would crap on its face on anything above or below.

I would say tell him to get the thing sparking and he's got a deal.

#5 ·
Awful lot of Iron heads are badly maintained, even by 'Harley' techs.
If it's had exhaust valves every 8~9,000 miles (or less) it hasn't been serviced properly
It's a real simple low power motor

PJ

#6 ·
Yeah I know the thing is a bowling ball. But as a friend of mine put it yesterday: how many inline fours do you own already? The other point he made is that it is easier and cheaper to own an HD and it will always be worth more than the honda you are trading.

I want the bike to build a street tracker with. I have no designs on keeping it in its current configuration.

So let me dump some gas on this fire by describing the bikes and giving some more detail: