advice needed lads
Close

advice needed lads

This is a discussion on advice needed lads within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; screw it I need to go on a long ride. Friends all ready to go on their big cube twins, problem is the only machine ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

advice needed lads

screw it I need to go on a long ride. Friends all ready to go on their big cube twins, problem is the only machine I have registered at the moment is my gt185. She runs like a dream, new lazertech tires, rear shocks, chain, sprockets ect, problem is i'd be doing a 660 Mile round trip from sydney to coffs harbor.

Am I just an idiot for running this thing over 5 thou revs all day for that long? Any special precautions on a little stroker for distance?
    That's like, your opinion, man.

I wouldn't do it. I have no specific knowledge about how long a 185 can bear those revs. Probably longer than I think, so long as the oiling system is working well. But I have an aversion to using the wrong tool for the job.

Do you have a bigger bike that is unregistered? Here in CA, we can get a temporary permit for vehicles that are being moved from one location to another. It's valid only for a day or two. Maybe you could check with your roads department and see if they can give you a temp. permit.

I have my brothers t500 running nicely, problem is he's let the registration lapse. It cost around 900 bucks all up to rego the thing as well. No temporary permits I can see.

I would take it, but the ramifications of getting into an accident, or getting caught here are huge.

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

That bike doesn't even reach peak til 7500 rpm. I can't see how 5k rpm all day would be an issue.
    http://quiterandom.hubpages.com/hub/...sic-motorcycle How to buy a used bike
    http://quiterandom.hubpages.com/hub/...the-Cafe-Racer How to build a cafe racer