Close

This is a discussion on new member within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello, new member here. I am looking into buying my first bike and have been slowly for the past year trying to find the ride ...

Thread: new member

Hello, new member here.

I am looking into buying my first bike and have been slowly for the past year trying to find the ride that is for me, I have landed on a Cafe Racer. Love the history, the look, and the speed! Since I am not a pro and am lacking the 5, 10 ,15 and even 20+ years of experience that you guys have, I will be looking into getting some help. I am not school or time trained mech. so some friends and builders are gonna have to be my backbone in this! And hopefully you guys for what I am sure will be a lot questions (I will try to refrain from idiocy and stupid questions at all costs).

So... to get to it, I am leaning towards a 77' Kawasaki KZ650, found one in my area in near mint, running condition for $1900 obo, working on getting it down to $1500. New fork seals, carbs, starter, tires, brake pads, battery, fluids. running!

Gonna just ride it for the rest of summer and fall to get the feel for it. I will probably start off the bike with some clip ons and rearsets. Maybe move into brakes (if I decide to upgrade em that is), and a bit of chopping. Leaving it at that til winter. Where the real upgrading will begin!

No real questions yet, those will probably come soon though.

JD
    Welcome! I think you're making some smart decisions. You found a running bike, check. You're going to ride it before tearing it apart, check. These are the two many people skip. So ride the hell out of it and learn all its quirks and how to not get stranded on it. Make sure tires, brakes and suspension are in good shape. And when it comes time to mod, that's where to start.

JD

He even filled out his Bio, must have read through a few newbie's bashing's and learned from them..