New Member intro and advice request
Close

This is a discussion on New Member intro and advice request within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; New member here. Little bit of background, then onto my project. I'm 34, a mechanical engineer by trade, but my loves are woodworking, metalworking, and ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

New member here. Little bit of background, then onto my project. I'm 34, a mechanical engineer by trade, but my loves are woodworking, metalworking, and riding. I started riding at 16, and put on about 10K miles a year currently. Bikes in my stable are my first bike ever - '71 CL450, an '83 V45 Interceptor (this one was given to me by a dear friend, is 100% original, all honda-line accesories, and could pass for new), an '03 KLR650, and my main ride an '07 DL1000. All different personalities, all enjoyed.

So, fast forward to two weeks ago. I've been thinking about doing a cafe bike for a while. I've been searching for an RD for about a year, everyone that comes up is more than I can scrape together. So a couple weeks ago, I am surfing C-List and come across an ad that says "Old yamaha motorcycle, moving and need gone". I emailed and said I'd be interested, asked all kinds of questions. The reply was almost instant, "come look and take it away for free". I'll be right there! The whole way over I'm hoping it's an RD or DT or XT or... So I show up and find it's an 83 Virago. Crap. I figure I'm there, it's free, at least I can get some scrap value out of it. So I load it in the truck and he says here - hands me a signed title.