Cafe Racer Forum banner

why so many hondas?

5K views 48 replies 12 participants last post by  greasemonkey75 
#1 ·
I am new to the cafe scene and have long been a kawi person. I know the cb750 was a landmark and the cb350 tank looked cafe without doing anything, but how come u don't see more kawi or Suzuki's. Am I missing something. I have a kz650 project going on right now and finding that many aftermarket companies are using the cb series as the platform for their parts.

#2 ·
I'm guessing it has something to do with the number of bikes produced, Honda sold a ton of CB750's and over 300,000 CB350's alone, not including their other popular models in the CB lineup. Kawsaki and Suzuki sold alot of very nice bikes too, but not in as high of a volume as Honda. So the aftermarket companies would obviously be better off supplying parts for the most popular bikes.

#15 ·
quote:Originally posted by greasemonkey75

Thank goodness I didn't buy like that. The tear down felt good. Let's hope the build goes ad smoothly.
Did the bike run before you tore it down? Why did you take the motor out?

#21 ·
quote:Originally posted by RJB

I'm guessing it has something to do with the number of bikes produced, Honda sold a ton of CB750's and over 300,000 CB350's alone,
Don't remember where I saw figures but I believe Honda produced over 3,000,000 CB350's
It's why there are so many still around un-restored, even after 40+yrs

#22 ·
I am gonna go out on a limb here.....

you used the words: scene, knee dents, powdercoat.....

and for the record $300 for powdercoating is what I pay in NY - i.e. not a deal.

I see no real direction to your project other than you want to play dressup.

and for the fourth time I have asked if you bike ran when you took it apart only to not get answers. To quote Jaguar - "you are doing it wrong".

I am curious grease - what exactly do you think a cafe racer is?

#23 ·
PJ,