Blacking out chrome?
Close

Blacking out chrome?

This is a discussion on Blacking out chrome? within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; So I am new to the cafe racer world. I am researching and checking out bikes to get. I am thinking about getting a cl350 ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Junior Member glassBottleBruised's Avatar

Blacking out chrome?

So I am new to the cafe racer world. I am researching and checking out bikes to get. I am thinking about getting a cl350 as a neat little project. Is it against some unspoken law to black out the chrome?? I personally hate chrome but I also dont want to decimate a solid bike. What do you guys think?

If you hate chrome do what you want with them. Who are you building it for, you or those who want to force their opinion on how you should do your thing. I'm not a big fan of chrome either, there is little if any on my bike and the pipes are neither black or chrome.
    www.CreativeCandy.org

I carry a gun because I'm too young to die, too old to take an ass whooping, and a cop is too heavy.

What is the best method for painting over chrome? On my Jawa the chrome is just falling off in big pieces, and I would just as soon paint some of the bits until good replacements, or rechroming funds are available. I really like patina but some things are ridiculous, like this Jawa.

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

o1marc you're right I'd be building it for myself. I'm not sure what the best method would be. I've never had a bike that had chrome on it. I'm sure I could figure out a way.