Cafe Racer Forum banner

I'm new, should I take a '80 cb650c for free!!!!!

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  Geeto67 
#1 ·
I can get a free 1980 cb650c for and i was wondering if its worth it?

#2 ·
im a noob and even i know we need a lot more than that.. im putting together a bike i got for free also and theres been a lot of headachs... free bikes are free for a reason... theyre junk... sometimes you luck out sometimes you dont... ive got about 200 bucks into mine so far and im dropping my cylinder head at Napa's machine shop to get a spark plug removed tomorrow and then i need a new head gasket and ive still gotta start tackleing the wiring issues... the cylinder that had the sheared off plug in it had a nail in it too, dont know how it could have gotten there but the head is kinda mangled... im good with metal and i can easily save the head but most people wouldnt be able to... bikes, like anything else, you get exactly what you pay for...

1975 CB550 Cafe-in-progress

#3 ·
If it runs then its a awesome deal. If it can be made road worthy for less than a $1000 then its a great deal. Heck its a good deal if you take it and part it out. This is the free bike that I got 2 years ago. this is after I assembled it too.

And here it is 2 years later

22/m
1980 Honda CB750
1972 Oldsmobile 442

#4 ·
quote:
I can get a free 1980 cb650c for and i was wondering if its worth it?
if it is free probably not. Free bikes are seldom worth the effort. If you have a pic of it that might help.

Personally, a 650 is only worth the motor to me because I could put it in a early cb500 chassis and have a 500/650 hot rod (it bolts in). The 650c itself is not an exceptional motorcycle otherwise.

If it is seized, walk away.

#6 ·