Interchangable Ducati parts - Page 2
Close

Interchangable Ducati parts

This is a discussion on Interchangable Ducati parts within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Originally Posted by woodsman So, in a perfect world, it should start? Disconnecting the battery won't require some type of reset? ... Correct. I have ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Interchangable Ducati parts

  1. #11
    Senior Member Teazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    , IL, .
    Posts
    2,923
    Quote Originally Posted by woodsman View Post
    So, in a perfect world, it should start? Disconnecting the battery won't require some type of reset? ...

    Correct. I have an ST3 and removed the battery and refitted it and removed all sorts of other parts, and as long as the ECU Immobilizer, dash and ECU are all connected, it starts without any issues.

    I think the 695 has a different ECU, but if it has a ground lead, make sure it's connected or else you may fry the ECU and that gets to be pricey

  2. #12
    Senior Member woodsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,519
    Quote Originally Posted by TrialsRider View Post
    That sounds like the type of feature I would pay extra money to Not have on my bike.,
    can you imagine; oops battery died, so much for bump starting, hope you have cell service, call for a hook.
    Agreed, first thing I did was see if it could be removed cheaply. Got some winter reading to do. I haven't owned a Ducati since '81 (I think, a little foggy those years) and now have the opportunity to buy damaged bikes on a regular basis, with bikes I'm handy. I don't even take the keys out of my truck let alone know anything about immobilizers.

    This little Duc having one I would have guessed your MV would.

  3. #13
    Senior Member woodsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,519
    Quote Originally Posted by Teazer View Post
    Correct. I have an ST3 and removed the battery and refitted it and removed all sorts of other parts, and as long as the ECU Immobilizer, dash and ECU are all connected, it starts without any issues.

    I think the 695 has a different ECU, but if it has a ground lead, make sure it's connected or else you may fry the ECU and that gets to be pricey
    Thanks. I'm feeling a little ignorant on modern electronic systems, LOL, always good to find out after the fact.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #14
    Senior Member TrialsRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,508
    Quote Originally Posted by woodsman View Post
    ... I would have guessed your MV would.
    #$% I hope not. On my second battery with no problems, was happy it bump started pretty easy when the first battery failed me.

  6. #15
    Senior Member TrialsRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,508
    Near as I can find, no I don't have one, yes you do
    and your bike should have come with a code card that gives you a secret number to over-ride your neuralizer

  7. #16
    Senior Member woodsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,519
    Quote Originally Posted by TrialsRider View Post
    Near as I can find, no I don't have one, yes you do
    and your bike should have come with a code card that gives you a secret number to over-ride your neuralizer
    Probably would have if I didn't buy it at a hitter sale.

  8. #17
    Senior Member Teazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    , IL, .
    Posts
    2,923
    As long as you have the correct Black key, you don't need a red key or the secret code.

  9. #18
    Senior Member brad black's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    947
    st3 and 695 bpth have 5am ecu. immobilisor is in the dash, and from the factory the immo, key set and ecu are coded together. code card used to override the immo works via the throttle to put the code in, but only works for one key on. turn it off, start again.

    battery flat or out is no issue.

    ecu does have an earth lead on one mounting screw. only earth the ecu has. won't work without it, amazing how well they can run with it just touching the ecu body.

    if it is immobilised, the dash will have an orange light flash then come on solid when the key is turned on.
    woodsman likes this.

  10. #19
    Senior Member woodsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,519
    Thanks Brad. Have a bad connection in the fuel tank flange at the epoxy. Going to dig it out, fix the wire and re-epoxy. Any thoughts?

  11. #20
    Senior Member brad black's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    947
    pita to fix ime. california cycleworks sells a replacement.
    woodsman likes this.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •