Building bike from frame up.
Close

This is a discussion on Building bike from frame up. within the General forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Ive considered building a cb cafe racer from the frame up. I have no experience with bikes, but have rebulit motors from 240sx and rx7's. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ive considered building a cb cafe racer from the frame up. I have no experience with bikes, but have rebulit motors from 240sx and rx7's. Ive also had a good bit of experience with some body work and odds and ends such as that.

Is it that difficult? Im looking into building a smaller cc motor, such as a 175,250, or 350cc cb. If I buy a frame with a bill of sale can I register it?

To answer your 2nd question - maybe, it depends on the title laws in your state. Getting a frame with a title shouldn't be much of a problem.

However; starting with just a frame is not a great way to go. Most people think of building a bike as a frame, engine and two wheels - they forget about the thousands of little parts that are needed to complete the build and end-up spending way too much money in their build. Can it be done - yes. Is it cost effective - NO.

Your better off buying a complete bike and starting from that point. I guarantee even if your careful and bag every stink'en part and bolt, you'll end-up down at the hardware store looking for odds and ends...

So my advice is buy a complete bike and carefully bag and tag everything and put them in one or two boxes. The parts you end up replacing (like a tank and seat) you can later resell to recover some money on your build.

Building a bike is not difficult - Building a nice running & looking bike takes tons of time... have fun
    Bob - Palmyra NY
    2 - 69 CB750, 1 Turbo
    1 - 71 CB750