Cafe Racer Forum banner

Chicago Newbie who is completely new to bikes

4K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  kenessex 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello All,

My name is Conrad and I am a total newbie when it comes to motorcycles. I'm planning on getting my motorcycle license this year and would like to get riding soon. I have worked in the auto industry for 13 years from sweeping floors, painting cars, to selling and buying. I am a very avid Snowboarder and that is my passion. I have really gotten into urban bike riding lately as well. Everyone I talk to seems to always ask if I love the freedom of snowboarding so much and I love cars why don't I own a motorcycle.

Well I'm 30 years old now and I feel as though I'm at the point in my life where I would be responsible enough to own a bike. I stumbled on this page as "Cafe Racer" styled bikes seem to be a favorite for me. So I am hoping to learn as much as I can before taking my first step into motorcycle ownership.

So I have some questions if anyone has the time are...
1. What's a good reliable first bike to own? (needs are below as I'm sure this is a general question)
  • Easy to own and maintain
  • Commuter to and from work; about 7 miles (would like to enjoy a long Sunday morning cruise every so often)
  • Managable to ride everything in downton Chicago (we have crappy roads)
  • Able to fit 2 people once in a while
  • Not expensive
2. Would any generation bike be OK or should I be focused on something newer like 90's and more recent or are these 70's bikes still ok and not going to keep me wrenching every other day to keep running?
3. What type of investment am I really looking into to start with?
4. Should I give up and just walk away from the "Cafe Racer" theme'd bike lol (I'm not expecting a poster or magazine cover styled bike I just love the simple naked look it seems)
5. Am I on the wrong forum? I see a lot of you are into actual racing, and as I'm not there yet, should I be starting somewhere else?