New Member from LA
Close

New Member from LA

This is a discussion on New Member from LA within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello all, My name is Vic and I am brand new to the hobby as well as this forum. Right now I'm saving up to ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: New Member from LA

New Member from LA

Hello all,

My name is Vic and I am brand new to the hobby as well as this forum. Right now I'm saving up to buy my first bike and do my first build. I don't have a lot of money but after reading a few threads before registering I get the feeling I don't need to throw cash at my project in order for it to turn into a good bike (which is a relief). I've done a bit of research into what a cafe racer bike is and how it came about but I want to learn more, especially from guys who have decades of experience.

That said which bikes would be good for a beginner that after riding for a few months I can turn into a good cafe racer? What magazines, websites, blogs, or other forums do you guys know of that could help me learn more about motorcycle mechanics and this hobby? All suggestions/comments/thoughts are welcome. I might be a newbie but I want to learn how to do things the right way.

Hey Vic,
    You a really big guy or a really small guy ?:I

The best way to learn all about motorcycles is to get involved in the amateur motorcycle competition of your choice,
    that will introduce you to all of the best riders & tuners in the country as well as the dealers and distributors of the goods.

… that's where all those guys go on any Sunday you know, they go racing they don't waste their time hanging around blogs and magazines.

How did this place give you the impression you don't need to spend much money?
    monkey likes this.
    I am Derby\'s Bitch

Some times things come around that are so singularly inept it gives you a whole new appreciation for the ept

4. Remove Advertisements