Newbie from SC
Close

Newbie from SC

This is a discussion on Newbie from SC within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello all, I am new to motorcycling, but not to forums. So I am fully aware of how much I don't know and how stupid ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie from SC

Newbie from SC

Hello all,

I am new to motorcycling, but not to forums. So I am fully aware of how much I don't know and how stupid I'm going to sound. Please forgive me.

My names Tyler. I'm a 23 year old first year law student. I've always wanted a motorcycle, but always put it off because it would be better to wait (after 25 for insurance, etc). But last summer, my dad died, and I've decided I don't want to wait because who knows when it'll happen to me. Anyways, over the years, I've come to appreciate the streetfighter/cafe style bikes. My bike will be for driving around downtown for school, so I'm not interested in a cruiser-style. So, question for you is, should I go the cafe-style route (Royal enfield continental gt) or go for a more practical first bike something along the lines of a suzuki gs500? I see the merits of the suzuki-style for learning, but I'm not sure if I should get a bike that I'll probably want to get rid of in a year. I'll definitely get a used bike either way.

So if you haven't thrown up in disgust yet, I'd appreciate any help.

Fun fact: The administrator on here (ffarl) was also an admin on a photography forum I used to be a pretty big part of. He sent me a cd of his band. They're pretty good!
    Last edited by Tiller; 02-13-2015 at 02:44 PM.

Go for the Royal Enfield, learn to ride safe, maintain it and enjoy it.

Sorry about your father

Depending on your height, weight, etc the GS might be a good choice. Please ride before you cafe anything.....for you own sake.

"Ding"

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements