1971 CB350 Project Underway!
Close

This is a discussion on 1971 CB350 Project Underway! within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hi all, I'm a software technology consultant from Bolivar Missouri and I have recently purchased my first bike. I used to race BMX semi-professionally and ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Geeto67

Thread: 1971 CB350 Project Underway!

Hi all,

I'm a software technology consultant from Bolivar Missouri and I have recently purchased my first bike. I used to race BMX semi-professionally and freestyle as a kid, but nothing with a motor. I've actually been quite averse to motorcycles my whole life after a 4-wheeler accident as a kid, but once I was exposed to the "cafe racer" and vintage bike world, it was over for me. I had to be a part of it. This has resulted in a wonderful journey of trial and error, self discovery that I am way too impatient and need to slow down, and that yes I can actually rebuild a carburetor.

If you view my profile I have an album created that shows the original (to me) and current state of my CB350 (whom I call Glenda. I name all my vehicles).

I am working on a lower profile battery pan (a guy I know is a sheetmetal worker and has come and measured what I need), rebuilding/rejetting the carburetors since I'm running K&N pod filters, new petcock, I replaced the old tires, and wouldn't you know it, I got anxious and rode the bike too soon with a poorly mounted license plate that resulted in a VERY crumpled plate when i hit a pothole.

So I have slowed down. Way down. I want to jet this thing right to account for the modifications, clean the bike from top to bottom and replace anything worn or torn, and just let this beautiful Fall riding weather slip into winter if it means I have a well-performing, safe bike to take out, instead of rushing it and putting myself and others in danger.