Newbie from blacksburg VA
Close

This is a discussion on Newbie from blacksburg VA within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey guys, I am new to the whole motorcycle scene. I used to race dirtbikes. I raced for about 12 years and decided to throw ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Newbie from blacksburg VA

Hey guys, I am new to the whole motorcycle scene. I used to race dirtbikes. I raced for about 12 years and decided to throw in the boots. I no longer have time to ride my dirtbike as much as I would like with being at school and all but I do miss the feeling of two wheels in-between my legs. So I am trying to find a good starter bike that can be transformed into somewhat of a cafe racer. I live in a pretty urban area so I don't need anything much larger than a 550. I don't plan on riding this thing cross country or any more than just to and from class and sunday cruises through the mountain roads.

I have found a 1982 Yamaha XJ 550 Maxim with 12,000 miles on it. They person only wants $950. I went and looked at the bike, and it was clean and road really well. Its a solid bike that has just enough ass to keep me honest but not too much. It handled really well but I am unsure if this is a bike I can turn into a decent cafe racer. Its all original so it would be mainly cosmetic work.

So my main questions are, Is this a good starter bike? Can it be transformed into cafe racer with enough tlc? or should I keep looking?
    Name:  13735081_1659022974320221_947626350006248690_o.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  140.2 KBName:  13735081_1659022974320221_947626350006248690_o.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  140.2 KB

Good starter bike, never be a sport bike.

If you raced dirt for 12 years, you are hardly new to motorcycles :/ does not compute.
    If you want a cafe racer, you don't want to start out with a chopper styled custom, but you should know that!