Hello from Black Mountain, NC
Close

This is a discussion on Hello from Black Mountain, NC within the NEW MEMBERS READ HERE! forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello All, I am a semi-centennial +1, live in North Carolina with my family and I love to ride every chance I get. I currently ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Hello from Black Mountain, NC

Hello All,

I am a semi-centennial +1, live in North Carolina with my family and I love to ride every chance I get. I currently own a 2018 DRZ 400s as my daily ride and I am working on my first cafe build using a 1972 XS 650 as the build bike.
    I am a multi media artist working with photography, music, leather, and screen printing. I look forward to reading the forums and trying to learn as much as I can in the hopes of building a machine worthy
    of the name Cafe/caff Racer.

Peace...
    1972 XS2 650 - Cafe Build in the works
    2018 DRZ 400s - Thumper
    Life Is The trip

if you are doing an xs650 I recommend taking a look at wolds project on here: https://www.caferacer.net/forum/gene...t-xs650-6.html

he's owned the bike since new, and been collecting knowledge on it for a long time. recently he painted it in gulf racing colors and the bike is local to me and I have seen it - it's pretty well thought out and a real runner. he mentions the minton mods which are a good starting primer on how to make the bike handle: https://www.650central.com/tech/mintonmods.htm
    Tanshanomi and TrialsRider like this.
    Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
    - Samuel Beckett
    A tool is just an opportunity with a handle
    - Kevin Kelly

Thanks for the information Geeto67. I have run across Joe Minton article in the past and most likely have it booked marked, but all the same thanks again for the information.