CM400t build/new member intro
Close

This is a discussion on CM400t build/new member intro within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Okay, first off: I'm a college student. I don't have a ton of money, so progress may be rather slow at times. Secondly, and likely ...

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Okay, first off: I'm a college student. I don't have a ton of money, so progress may be rather slow at times.

Secondly, and likely more importantly, I realize that the CM series of bikes garners absolutely no love from the masses. I know the forks are soft, they aren't fast, they can look pretty awkward, and aren't worth anything, among all their other problems. If you have suggestions on how to go about fixing these shortcomings on a budget, please let me know.

I picked up this pair of bikes on craigslist for $600. Call it a bad deal or a good one, but I've been happy with the purchase. Both cm's were runners, although the custom is missing gauges and lights and the like now. It also doesn't have a title, so it's basically a parts bike, and will either be parted later on, or the carbs will be reinstalled and sold as a runner in need of TLC. By now you are probably getting bored of reading, so here are some pics of right after getting them home:

I have a fair amount of experience with cars, and so far the bikes don't seem too complicated. The black bike is the titled runner.

The (rough) plan:
    Install lights
    Fix gauges
    swap exhausts (done)
    weld holes in exhaust (done)
    rebuild/upgrade forks
    get it running like new (done)
    replace the hideous bars (looking for suggestions; leaning towards superbike-style bars)
    modify seat padding for better position
    lower-profile rear lights (suggestions?)
    custom rearsets, because I'm tall
    lighten the bike, where possible
    more power (carb jetting, velocity stacks, exhaust, the like. I don't expect much)