1981 CB650C project
Close

1981 CB650C project

This is a discussion on 1981 CB650C project within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; I am just starting out on my first cafe project and I am new to the cafe style but love the look. I want to ...

1981 CB650C project

I am just starting out on my first cafe project and I am new to the cafe style but love the look. I want to design and fab everything for my bike. I have heard good and bad things about the CB650C but I got it for nothing. I don't want to just bolt parts on I want the bike to have my personality and feel. Any help from anybody that understands what a real Cafe Racer style is I would really appreciate the input. I don't like the so called "bolt-on cafe" bikes because anyone with money can "put one together" like a kit car. I am giving myself 2-3 years to complete the project, working mostly on weekends and some nights.The hardest thing I have come across so far, even though I just started, is which style do I like. I like so many different things about so many bikes I would have to build about 20 bikes. So I am working on a design right now and hopefully I can put it down on paper first.

Does your free CB650 run? Is it titled / registered / road ready? Have you owned / wrenched on bikes before? Do you have mechanical / technical abilities to manufacture your own parts? Do you have access to all the tools you'll need to make said parts?

Forget about style and looks until you can answer all the above questions with a yes.