Honda CX 500 build - I am new to bikes so dont hold back.
Close

This is a discussion on Honda CX 500 build - I am new to bikes so dont hold back. within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello all. I am going to use this thread to document my 1981 CX 500 build. I know the CX 500 does not exactly get ...

Hello all. I am going to use this thread to document my 1981 CX 500 build. I know the CX 500 does not exactly get a lot of love but through searching I have come across several really cool looking builds. Of course then again I am pretty new to bikes so what do I know. All that really matters is that I like it but I do value others opinions and greatly appreciate others knowledge.

Here is the rundown on the bike.

1981 Honda CX 500
    Has some unknown exhaust - sounds good.
    Carbs are suppose to have been jetted. - We shall see.
    Runs very well, supposedly motor was recently rebuilt. - We shall see.
    Paint is rough and will have to be redone.
    Has a custom plastic piece for the rear that was suppose to be custom made.

Bike runs strong, shifts good, and in general just seems solid.

Here are a few pics.

Name:  side view.jpg
Views: 3092
Size:  52.4 KBName:  back view.jpg
Views: 1272
Size:  32.2 KBName:  front view.jpg
Views: 1284
Size:  31.3 KBName:  photo.jpg
Views: 1413
Size:  93.7 KBName:  side 1.jpg
Views: 9918
Size:  34.3 KB

My initial thoughts are to get the paint and body work one on the bike right away and hope to be able to get it decent looking to ride before warm weather gets here ( I am in Indiana). Then I will start trying to decide what parts need to be changed out / added. I am pretty sure a new seat is going to be in order right away as well. I have always liked the look of the 1/4 fairing so may try to find something along those lines.