Good bike to build for a novice
Close

This is a discussion on Good bike to build for a novice within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello all, I'm new to the forum. I joined because I really want to restore/cafe a bike, but I'm having a hard time deciding what ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum. I joined because I really want to restore/cafe a bike, but I'm having a hard time deciding what bike. My mechanical skills are novice at best but I'm excited at the prospect of learning new skills and building a bike.

I'm looking at mainly Hondas because they seem to be the easiest to find parts for. I'm thinking about a '77 cb400f, but I'm not sure if the 4 cylinder will be too much for my first project being that I'm not that mechanically advanced. So I don't know if I should dive into the in-line 4 or stick to a twin for now (I really like the cl350). I've been riding on the street for about 8 years (2003 SV1000s) and still love it. I do basic things myself (oil, brakes, chain/sprockets) but that's mainly it.

Any recommendations would be much appreciated. Any models/years to specifically stay away from on any of the Hondas?

Thanks,
    Steve

Just buy a bike and ride said bike.
    dont make work for the sake of work.

stop all ideas of a cafe racer, project, build, making it your own or any of that bullshit.
    just keeping an old bike running and learning to ride are enough work for you.
    I am Derby\'s Bitch

Some times things come around that are so singularly inept it gives you a whole new appreciation for the ept

Forget Hondas, they are old and crusty. Find a GS550 or GS750 and just make it work like the best lightly modified stock bike you can. 400F's are sexy, but after riding a SV1000 you will wonder why you bothered when you ride one. 400F's were good back in the day, they are no longer very good and being over forty years old will not make them better like old fine wine.