Wire wheel guidance
Close

Wire wheel guidance

This is a discussion on Wire wheel guidance within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hi guys, Novice here about to start converting an old Kawasaki GT550 (yes, I know) and before I get stuck in I just need a ...

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Wire wheel guidance

Wire wheel guidance

Hi guys,

Novice here about to start converting an old Kawasaki GT550 (yes, I know) and before I get stuck in I just need a bit of guidance. It's currently got alloy wheels which I'm really not keen on. I'd be looking to buy a set of spoked wheels but the whole project is on a tight budget so I just want to buy them from eBay.

Question is - do I need to match the old rim size exactly or do I have some room for error? Or is there some universal size that would make the whole bike look better? The tyre sizes are listed as 100/90-19 and 120/90-18, and I'll be replacing them anyway so not bothered about using the current ones.

I know how annoying dumb questions are from novices but I'd really appreciate any help!

Cheers

The GT Kawas were shaft drive, so good luck finding a set of spoked wheels on a budget. Blanket rule of thumb with skinny tyre sizes is don't go over 2 sizes between front and rear (IE your 100 / 120 combo is best). I know it gets a bit more complicated with newer bikes....

Personally, I think the OEM mags look a bit like Lesters so I'd be inclined to keep them.

A Zephyr 550 would make a better bike to start with, but hey, wrung what ya brung as they say.

Good luck with it.
    Last edited by hillsy; 08-26-2014 at 01:45 AM.

If you have the Kawasaki GT550 model I'm thinking of with mags, I'd like to know how you are going to fit spoked hubs to run alloy rims.

Working that out is way more important, than rim sizes or working out the "looks".

If you think you can run fat modern rubber, get over it, I doubt you can or should go any bigger than stock OEM sizes.