1983 GS650L Cafe Racer Build. No seriously.
Close

This is a discussion on 1983 GS650L Cafe Racer Build. No seriously. within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Just picked up this beat down gs650 for a cafe racer build. The shafty isn't the best candidate for a racer but it's what I ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: 1983 GS650L Cafe Racer Build. No seriously.

Name:  gs650.jpg
Views: 3023
Size:  2.90 MBName:  gs650L.jpg
Views: 1276
Size:  2.79 MB

Just picked up this beat down gs650 for a cafe racer build. The shafty isn't the best candidate for a racer but it's what I have. Much of this especially carburetor tuning will be a learning process.

Going to post progress from start to finish. Compared to those on this forum I'm a novice, and I hope to leech some experience from the community.
    Last edited by flipmotorcycles; 12-07-2015 at 04:42 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by flipmotorcycles View Post
    but I'm doing it anyway.
    if you look at some other posts here, you'll see that right there is the issue. if you won't listen to good advice you're done here before you start. do this on the dotheton forum, you'll get much more support. well, less negative anyway.

Good luck. My advice is that you get it running before you dismantle it. Start with cleaning the carburetors and then put it back together at least to the point that it will run and idle. Then consider what needs to be done to make the rest of it a complete and running motorcycle. If you tear down the engine to pieces and start changing out parts and leaving things off right from the start, the bike might never run properly again. Good luck.

oops I said that twice didn't I … well good luck again anyway

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

Hey Thanks TrialsRider! I'm going to leave the performance tweaking to the end so I can see if I can notice any differences between them and stock.