2000 Kawasaki zr7
Close

2000 Kawasaki zr7

This is a discussion on 2000 Kawasaki zr7 within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Just came across a zr7 and I’m wanting to build a cafe racer out of it. Don’t even know where to start or what to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2000 Kawasaki zr7

Just came across a zr7 and I’m wanting to build a cafe racer out of it. Don’t even know where to start or what to do for I’ve never done this before. Any and all suggestions are welcomed. Looking for some direction from someone experienced

Is it hot?

... sorry did not mean to stump you with the first question
    How does one just come across a motorcycle
    :/ is that like; you seen an advertisement for a cheap pos, inherited one, bought one, had it given to you, found it with the keys left in it, found it in the woods with trees growing out of it, or other?
    Last edited by TrialsRider; 08-28-2018 at 10:35 AM.

jcw
    Different tank, modified subframe, different seat and rear cowling, clipon's, rear sets, a couple less cylinders...

your going to be a hero here!

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

where are you located? zr7's were pretty rare here in the states despite being sold here for 5 years. It's basically an old KZ750 engine in a modern chassis.

In terms of making it a "cafe racer"? sell it and buy something older, preferrably british or european. It's a modern naked commuter bike and assuming like all newbies you think a "cafe racer" is a styling exercise (which it isn't) the ZR7 will just be a disappointment. Additionally, since you are new to this one big turn off is that there is no aftermarket for that bike. Everything you do to the tank or seat or whatnot you are going to have to make from scratch.