1997 Kawasaki ER500 project
Close

This is a discussion on 1997 Kawasaki ER500 project within the Project Builds forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello all, just thought I'd share my little project. Not a very inspiring base for a cafe project but I like a challenge. Anyway, picked ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: 1997 Kawasaki ER500 project

Hello all, just thought I'd share my little project. Not a very inspiring base for a cafe project but I like a challenge.
    Anyway, picked up this 1997 ER5 up 3 years ago as cheep transport to work. It's my first "big bike" and started my love affair with two wheeled transport.
    Here's the bike stock, looks ok in the pic's but it's very tatty in the flesh.
    Name:  IMG_20181013_113728.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  4.44 MB

I'm a total novice at this really, I have built a drift trike in the past, and my first bike (Suzuki GS125) was also converted into a very basic cafe racer.
    So any advice is really welcome, and I'll have lots of questions toward the end of the build, especially with electronics..
    Cutting the rear end off was the fist big step, no going back now but I'm pretty confident with a welder so what's the worst that could happen!
    Name:  IMG_20190718_202815.jpg
Views: 60
Size:  4.06 MB

Bike stripped down to rolling chassis and rear hoop welded in, you can see how crusty the frame is. Lots of sanding and grinding ahead to get it back to bear metal.
    Name:  IMG_20190725_145150.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  5.04 MB

Started thinking about number plate mounting options, liked the idea of a swing arm mounted plate, I found an image of a ER5 cafe racer that had one and basically just coped that.
    The anodised red plate holder was just a cheep thing I found on ebay, has the option to have the rear indicators mounted to each side, but I'm not going that route.
    Name:  IMG_20190728_143801.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  3.95 MB