3 phase bridge rectifier
Close

3 phase bridge rectifier

This is a discussion on 3 phase bridge rectifier within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; anyone used one on a cb360? I'm putting mine back together and the original design is just so............. bunglefucked, that I'm thinking of building a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member roccitycafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,412

    3 phase bridge rectifier

    anyone used one on a cb360? I'm putting mine back together and the original design is just so............. bunglefucked, that I'm thinking of building a box that handles the rectifier, regulator, starter relay (mosfet), etc... if anyone has any suggestions as to why honda only used two phases of the alternator on this bike too, they'd be appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member crazypj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Altamonte Springs, Fl. USA, Bridgend, South Wales, U.K.
    Posts
    3,433
    It uses 3 phases, one gets switched in when lights turn on so it doesn't overcharge when lights are off

    PJ
    I dabble in rocket science, when I\'m not picking my nose
    The other night I gave my girlfriend an orgasm, but, she spat it back at me

    'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'

  3. #3
    Senior Member crazypj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Altamonte Springs, Fl. USA, Bridgend, South Wales, U.K.
    Posts
    3,433
    It uses 3 phases, one gets switched in when lights turn on so it doesn't overcharge when lights are off

    PJ
    I dabble in rocket science, when I\'m not picking my nose
    The other night I gave my girlfriend an orgasm, but, she spat it back at me

    'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member roccitycafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,412
    as far as the regulator, I've been told it shorts to ground when the voltage goes over the limit, this seems like a stupid design, is this so? or does it just break contact with the rectifier?

  6. #5
    Senior Member roccitycafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,412
    as far as the regulator, I've been told it shorts to ground when the voltage goes over the limit, this seems like a stupid design, is this so? or does it just break contact with the rectifier?

  7. #6
    Senior Member dielectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kenosha, WI, USA.
    Posts
    290
    Just about every regulator in the world will take the extra voltage and shunt to ground. The current has to go somewhere, which is why they don't open the circuit instead. If you opened the circuit, the voltage would actually rise, which isn't really what you want.
    Dictated but not read.

  8. #7
    Senior Member dielectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kenosha, WI, USA.
    Posts
    290
    Just about every regulator in the world will take the extra voltage and shunt to ground. The current has to go somewhere, which is why they don't open the circuit instead. If you opened the circuit, the voltage would actually rise, which isn't really what you want.
    Dictated but not read.

  9. #8
    Senior Member roccitycafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,412
    ok... if that's the case, I'll definitely be building a switch mode regulator to keep the system voltage at or below 13 or so. should take some load off the alternator too since it will just modulate the output without shorting anything to ground

  10. #9
    Senior Member roccitycafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,412
    ok... if that's the case, I'll definitely be building a switch mode regulator to keep the system voltage at or below 13 or so. should take some load off the alternator too since it will just modulate the output without shorting anything to ground

  11. #10
    Senior Member crazypj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Altamonte Springs, Fl. USA, Bridgend, South Wales, U.K.
    Posts
    3,433
    I guess that's the difference between electronics and electrical systems, knows how to build a switched regulator but doesn't know what it does
    It wont take any load off a PMS system, the magnet still spins.

    PJ
    I dabble in rocket science, when I\'m not picking my nose
    The other night I gave my girlfriend an orgasm, but, she spat it back at me

    'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Top fork bridge for sale anyone?
    By oscarrico12 in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 11:59 PM
  2. Covered Bridge Tour Aug 14 NY
    By JackC in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 08:17 PM
  3. MT125R Top Fork Bridge Needed
    By Hoosier Tom in forum Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 10:26 PM
  4. The Bridge Is On Fire!!!
    By 2smokeTyler in forum General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 12:43 AM
  5. stupid 3 phase power
    By joe c in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 07:59 PM

Search tags for this page

3 phase rectifier on cb360

Click on a term to search for related topics.