Need new throttle assembly, suggestions?
Close

Need new throttle assembly, suggestions?

This is a discussion on Need new throttle assembly, suggestions? within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Just really need some clarity here. Got a new handlebar control (all in one) on the way and need to get a new throttle assembly ...

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member shinneh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raeford, nc, USA.
    Posts
    69

    Need new throttle assembly, suggestions?

    Just really need some clarity here. Got a new handlebar control (all in one) on the way and need to get a new throttle assembly as the new control does not incorporate the throttle. My confusion is this: is there a certain size I need? Or can I just get a 1 inch dual cable control assembly? http://www.jpcycles.com/product/5000708?N=274977

    My concern is, are all 2 cable assemblies created equal? Or do I need a certain honda cb550 part? As it is now I am only half happy with my current bars and will change them...next year. For that I'd like to go drag bars.

    Now if you'll excuse me, the black wire from the right side control grounded out and my screw driver bit fuse allowed the whole wire to melt...so off to work I go. (And gonna get some real fuses)

  2. #2
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,579
    Your cb550 should have 7/8" bars, so a 1" HD throttle won't fit.

    Look for Jap dirt bike throttles, or a lot of newer sports bikes run separate throttle assemblies (ZX6/9, GSXR, R1/6, etc)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Teazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    , IL, .
    Posts
    2,919
    Or get a MotionPro throttle and a new cable. If necessary, Flanders sell all the parts needed to make up a custom cable.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member Staggerlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PDX, Orygun, .
    Posts
    183
    MotionPro's cheap-ass generic push-pull throttle will work fine with your factory cables; I'm using one on my cb550.



    P/N 01-0058; you ought to be able to find one locally for ~ $15.

  6. #5
    Member shinneh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raeford, nc, USA.
    Posts
    69
    Thanks alot man, got at least 2 bike parts store around-one should have it.

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. RD 250 carb assembly question
    By gatorsmash in forum Technical
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 01:11 AM
  2. Let the re-assembly begin
    By tonupoakland in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-25-2009, 05:12 PM
  3. Cam assembly issue
    By Pete Casper in forum Technical
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 10:40 PM
  4. Cb750 race throttle assembly
    By 68grandprix in forum Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 07:50 PM
  5. Throttle assembly
    By ascentofstan2 in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 11:55 PM

Search tags for this page

cb550 throttle assembly

,

handlbars throttle assemby cafe racer

Click on a term to search for related topics.