Fist time build need hel 82 cb750k
Close

This is a discussion on Fist time build need hel 82 cb750k within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; I have a 82 cb750k stock except for a Vance and Hines 4-1 exauhst that I picked up for 300 bucks. The bike runs great. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I have a 82 cb750k stock except for a Vance and Hines 4-1 exauhst that I picked up for 300 bucks. The bike runs great. It's my first bike and after seein some custom bikes online I have Decided to give my bike a legit rebuild Café style. That bein said when it comes to mechanics of a motorcycle I don't know shit from a good grain of chocolate. I am some what mechanically inclined and a Cnc machinist by trade so I have the ability to fashion pretty much anything I may need customized. After doin some research I've gathered that I need some different bars either clubmans or clip ons, different seat, gas tank, tires, fenders, rear sets. What I haven't found info on is bike stance. Do I need to modify the rear shock mounts? Do I need shorter or taller shocks? Do i leave ot stock and make up the difference with tires? I've also read about people takin front forks off of cb900s and puttin them on the 750. I'd like to leave it stock as much as possible but I don't want to hinder performance. I'm not tryin to make a cookie cutter bike that looks cool. Im lookin for a super hang on style more or less. Also where do i start on the engine, performance wise? Like I said earlier it runs good or so I think. Any help would be gravy. Thanks.

So you want to mod it but leave it stock?
    you dont want a cookie cutter bike but you are building it to a "style"?

are you a starburst?

K=custom for the dohc bikes right? i think so, either way its not a great frame to build on....at all...

Why not just try and keep the bike running and service it before trying to play dress up
    I am Derby\'s Bitch