modifying the rake on a sportster
Close

This is a discussion on modifying the rake on a sportster within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey there, I am new to the bike rebuild world but I'm about to rebuild a xl sporster into a cafe racer. I would like ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hey there,

I am new to the bike rebuild world but I'm about to rebuild a xl sporster into a cafe racer. I would like to change the rake so as to have better handling in twisties.
    Any recommendations?

Thanks,

Marc

You may need more than a rake change to get an xl to handle better than it already can. Realistically; you may want to look into purchasing a triple tree set that is adjustable for rake. They are expensive but it will give you a chance to experiment with different rake settings without having to take one guess at cutting and welding up the frame. There are other ways to change your front rake like installing longer/shorter rear shocks on the rear and/or lowering the front end by shorting up the front forks in the triple tree. As far as what rake setting will serve as the best depends on what you consider to be good handling.
    Bob - Palmyra NY
    2 - 69 CB750, 1 Turbo
    1 - 71 CB750

buy a buell.
    Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
    - Samuel Beckett
    A tool is just an opportunity with a handle
    - Kevin Kelly

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

or get some conical races made for the bearings and adjust them for the application.
    That's like, your opinion, man.

Don't be so quick to cut. If you do what most people do... shorten the seat with a hoop that will cause you to have to lift the back with longer shocks to not bottom out on every bump then you eat in to that rake pretty quickly. Then the length of forks will cause a bit of change on the rake. Changing rake is easy to screw up. Do it last... if you absolutly have to.