Custom wiring for ignition HELP!
Close

Custom wiring for ignition HELP!

This is a discussion on Custom wiring for ignition HELP! within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; I have re-done all the wiring on my 1980 Kawasaki KZ550. Here is my plan, I got rid of the key switch and all that ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member Kawi550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Custom wiring for ignition HELP!

    I have re-done all the wiring on my 1980 Kawasaki KZ550. Here is my plan, I got rid of the key switch and all that mess and just simply have a hidden power switch. What I would like to do next is have the horn trigger be my ignition button. A) is this possible? Are the wires beefy enough? and B) how would I run the 2 wires from the horn switch to get it to fire?

    I am kind of a newbie with electrical so sorry if this is a dumb question.
    Last edited by Kawi550; 11-20-2013 at 11:52 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator ffarl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    830
    THat's easy, and yes it'll work. You just have to find which two wires go to the ignition switch, and use them to interrupt the positive power to the horn. You can probably find a schematic online if you don't know which wires it is.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DesmoDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SE MI, USA.
    Posts
    1,652
    From what I've seen (which isn't all that much), horn buttons typically ground the circuit to complete it, where power buttons typically complete the positive connection. Seems like it wouldn't matter but all of the horn buttons I've worked on only have one wire running to them, the ground is completed through the body of the switch. Point being I wouldn't run a positive lead to the horn button until I was sure it was isolated from ground. And I've never seen a horn button that's isolated from ground. They may be fairly common, I don't know, but it's certainly not a given it will work on any bike. Some kill switches work the same way FWIW.

    As for wires being large enough, use a relay. they're cheap.

    "Funny" story. When I was figuring out how to lay out the wiring on my 750GT, I spent a bit of time trying to figure out where to put the starter relay. I considered a few different places, then tried to remember where the stock one had been. I couldn't remember. Then it occurred to me that a 750 GT is kick start only. D'oh!

    EDIT: You could still use the horn button to trigger the starter relay, but you might(?) have to do it by breaking/completing the ground, not the positive side. That's how the horn on my 750 works after all, no reason it couldn't be a starter motor it was firing instead I suppose. The wiring would be pretty simple but I'd strongly urge you to get a wiring schematic and figure it out/ask specific questions rather than have someone tell you how and not understand what you're doing. It'll make the trouble shooting that much easier if/when you start letting the smoke out of the system.

    EDIT 2: I'm assuming by ignition button you really mean starter button? As in it turns the starter motor, not turns on the ignition circuit?
    Last edited by DesmoDog; 11-20-2013 at 02:38 PM.
    -Craig
    The Mighty Monza Jr. Thread: https://www.caferacer.net/forum/proje...r-project.html

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,568
    How do you plan on starting your bike then?

  6. #5
    Senior Member MK3Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Posts
    282
    But then your horn will go off while you're cranking..

  7. #6
    Junior Member Kawi550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2
    I took the horn off so there is no more horn haha. My new controls have headlight, blinkers, horn and pass. The horn and pass are not being used so I was hoping that one of those could be used as my ignition button. As of right now I have some big bulky button from O'reilly as my ignition and I figured that if I have 2 push style buttons not in use I could use one for that. It seems like it should work?

  8. #7
    Senior Member MK3Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Posts
    282
    Yeah, it's just a momentary switch... that's all you need to give 12V to the relay.

  9. #8
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,568
    Sorry - I read that the wrong way round.

  10. #9
    Senior Member ILoveThumpers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Illiana
    Posts
    419
    Quote Originally Posted by Kawi550 View Post
    I took the horn off so there is no more horn haha. My new controls have headlight, blinkers, horn and pass. The horn and pass are not being used so I was hoping that one of those could be used as my ignition button...
    Put your horn back on.

    Use the horn button for the horn.

    Use the pass button for the starter.

    -Deek

    P.S. you'll really want a horn

  11. #10
    Senior Member MK3Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by ILoveThumpers View Post
    Put your horn back on.

    Use the horn button for the horn.

    Use the pass button for the starter.

    -Deek

    P.S. you'll really want a horn
    This.

    And a heavy kicking boot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. hondaman ignition or pamco ignition
    By blueandy in forum Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2012, 03:06 PM
  2. Anyone want a custom VTR?
    By Big Bad Bob Dog in forum General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 01:35 PM
  3. Wiring an Ignition Switch
    By ZouLou in forum Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 08:43 AM
  4. updating wiring/ignition/rectifier for cm400
    By txchainsawgogi in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 11:58 PM
  5. ignition problem cb750 w/ martek ignition
    By pampadori in forum Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 05:40 PM

Search tags for this page

1980 kawasaki kz550 / how to replace start button
,
1980 kz550a easy wiring
,
cafe racer where to put ignition switch
,
cm400 no power
,
kz55o ignition wiring
,
redoing electrical system kz550
,

what all wires can i get rid of on a kz550m

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread