Which bike is easier to turn into a cafe racer?
Close

Which bike is easier to turn into a cafe racer?

This is a discussion on Which bike is easier to turn into a cafe racer? within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hello, i am fairly new to Restoration/alteration and just wanted to get the opinion on which is easier for a beginner to modify. my options ...

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Which bike is easier to turn into a cafe racer?

Question Which bike is easier to turn into a cafe racer?

Hello,

i am fairly new to Restoration/alteration and just wanted to get the opinion on which is easier for a beginner to modify.

my options are a honda CL360, engine has been restored already i do believe.

second is a kawasaki kz550. engine got a thorough fix up and a has a new MC and clutch.

both selling for 1500. i want to start somewhere and i definitly dont wanna get into the engine. im good with my hands and i am a quick learner with this sort of stuff.

so thoughts?

I think you should go buy a new triumph thruxton and forget this old jap bike nonsense. You'll be happier. Maybe find a used one. Finance it if you have to, Credit unions give great finance rates.
    Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
    - Samuel Beckett
    A tool is just an opportunity with a handle
    - Kevin Kelly

Quote Originally Posted by Geeto67 View Post
    I think you should go buy a new triumph thruxton and forget this old jap bike nonsense. You'll be happier. Maybe find a used one. Finance it if you have to, Credit unions give great finance rates.
    that sounds nice. but i dont feel like dropping 10 grand on a bike (even over time) and the thruxton is heavy, and way more power than i need. (going for rides around town, no highway) plus i wanna work with my hands.

i mean, id take one off your hands if you wanted to give me one :P

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements