Is this a good starting point?
Close

This is a discussion on Is this a good starting point? within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey, I am a university student with no money, but would like to build my own cafe racer. A friend is selling a 1981 Honda ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hey,

I am a university student with no money, but would like to build my own cafe racer. A friend is selling a 1981 Honda Cm400t for $1000, it runs well and is completely stock. I will be the first to admit it is not the prettiest or fastest bike, but I think it could potentially make a good base to build my first cafe racer. I was just wondering if anyone agrees with me, or if anyone out there has any advice that would steer me away from this bike. I would greatly appreciate any feedback about this bike and potential build.

Cheers

Fuck, just Fuck......

So you have no money....big shock, no one dose.
    And you found a honda hawk....another big shock....
    And let me guess, for the last 3 years you have know how into the whole cafe racer thing you have always been?

Remember when someone told you that there are no stupid questions? well they lied.
    This is one of those stupid questions.

Here is why
    Clearly you have a perverted view of what a cafe racer is. If you actually knew then you wouldnt have to ask what is or isnt a good base for it.
    If someone asked if a corvette would make a good baja racer they would get the same reaction. The questions tells the people you are asking how little you know and how far off base you are already.

In an attempt to help here are the more important things to ask and figure out.
    -does the dam thing run 100% right now. Can you jump on it and ride where ever you want when ever you want? You want a yes answer here.

after that it doesnt matter.

Dont modifiy anything.
    just ride the fucking thing.

A "potential build" should not even be something you are thinking about. at all, for a long time.