Need advice, 1980 Honda Hawk 400
Close

This is a discussion on Need advice, 1980 Honda Hawk 400 within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey guys, New here, I apologize in advance if this is a redundant type of posting around here and for my lack of knowledge. Anyway, ...

Hey guys,

New here, I apologize in advance if this is a redundant type of posting around here and for my lack of knowledge. Anyway, I’m looking at buying a new bike, I started riding just this spring and have been riding around the city on a Honda Rebel 250. I’m looking to upgrade and have been curious about cafe style bikes. I like the look and sound of them, I have never tired one though. I was looking around on Kijiji and found a 1980 Honda Hawk 400 with 30,000 kilometers (I’m Canadian) with a “new battery” and the asking price is $1,300 (Canadian). There wasn’t any more info on the add, might get in touch with the guy to ask him some generic questions about condition, etc. But, I have no experience with buying a motorcycle or this model of bike. I wanted to see what you guys think, if there are any specific questions to ask about regarding the Hawk in particular or when buying a bike. I’m doing some re search on this site about the Hawk and just wanted to see if you guys think this could be a fun bike for a newb who is willing to learn or if I should just steer clear. Thanks, here’s a pic of the bike...
    Attached Images Attached Images  

You already have a beginner bike in the rebel, why do you need another?

Also, yikes! Stay away.
    Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
    - Samuel Beckett
    A tool is just an opportunity with a handle
    - Kevin Kelly

Welcome.

No, not this model, and certainly not this poorly modified and functionally dysfunctional example.

Don't buy it, don't ride it and certainly don't bother gazing at the other amateur builds of this same model on the idiot build clickbator web sites.