idle: yes. go: no.
Close

idle: yes. go: no.

This is a discussion on idle: yes. go: no. within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; so i took my bike into the shop because it was only idling on one cylinder. the mech. cleaned my carbs and put in new ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member Johnny Gaijin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    seattle, washington, .
    Posts
    108

    idle: yes. go: no.

    so i took my bike into the shop because it was only idling on one cylinder. the mech. cleaned my carbs and put in new carb kits. he reset the points, adjusted the timing, the cam chain, the valves. but now the bike don't run. it starts right up and idles fine you can redline it while it's sitting there in neutral but once you put it in gear and go about a hundred feet it falls on it's ass. it just loses all get up and eventually dies. let it sit long enough and it'll idle again but craps out once ridden.

    anybody have anything like this happen to them?


  2. #2
    FR
    FR is offline
    Senior Member FR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Essex Jct, VT, USA.
    Posts
    2,595
    Sounds like maybe the floats are WAY out of adjustment. There's enough gas to handle idle and even high rpm, but when you load the engine there's a much greater demand for fuel, and it ain't there. That's my knee-jerk reaction best guess.
    If I'm right do I get to throw a wrench at your mechanic?

    FR

    BTW, any "mechanic" that doesn't test drive/ride the vehicle after the type of work described to ensure the efficacy of the work, and to reveal this type of problem, needs to go back to school.

    FR

    Edited by - FR on Jun 07 2007 09:50:21 AM

  3. #3
    Squeak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    44
    is the choke on? Year and years ago, on my old Bol'dor i had a similar problem, it ran like shit unless it was idling or flat out, the choke was on[;|]
    or is it starved for fuel?


  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member Johnny Gaijin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    seattle, washington, .
    Posts
    108
    the mechanic did test ride it. found out it didn't work. tinkered with it for about a month(!) and then gave up. grr. choke is off (or is it on? the semantics/logistics of the word 'choke' always confuse me) so no problem there. can't work on it till monday but the floats'll be the first thing i check.


  6. #5
    Senior Member Diamondj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wharton, NJ, USA.
    Posts
    1,731
    Did the carb kits come with jets? Were the carb kits OEM or were they Keyster? Keyster jets are notorious for being wrong. The hole through the jet has no real relationship with the size stamped on the outside. You need to:

    1. Find out the float height setting (you didn't mention what the bike was - somebody here could probably tell you off the top of their head) and make sure the floats are set correctly.

    2. Find out if the jets were replaced and if they are now Keyster jets. If so, get some factory replacements either from your local dealer or Sudco.

    3. Bitch slap the mechanic. Repeat as necessary until the useless bastage surrenders his tools and takes up a career he is better suited for.

    Jim


  7. #6
    Senior Member krapfever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Columbus, god blessed Ohio, USA.
    Posts
    1,112


    Check and clean or replace the plugs. Whatever's causing your problem, it's most likely now compounded by fouled plugs.



    Honda go sideways!

  8. #7
    Administrator texmawby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    10,737
    bad orings on jets or bad pilot jet. is this a set of cv carbs?

    texy




  9. #8
    Senior Member Pete Casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schenectady, NY, USA.
    Posts
    2,495
    I tell you guys, this is exactly what is happening with the wankermobile No.223. In nuetral the bike runs well, redlines, etc. Under load at high RPM (which is the only place I want to keep it running) it just goes blaaaaahhhhhhhh.... still stays running, but no power. I have run every possible jet set up with it and it still happens (granted, it was always in the wonderful NH "sunshine"/rain).

    I am wondering if the points are just not working well at high rpm...those flippin' springs. I am just going to install an electronic ignition with dyna coils and see how that works. If it still runs like crap...I think it may be something internal or spiritual (my karma is like crap these days)...lol.

    Pete

    Yeller'
    ---
    Ask not what the wanker can do for you, but what you can do for your wanker!

  10. #9
    FR
    FR is offline
    Senior Member FR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Essex Jct, VT, USA.
    Posts
    2,595
    quote:
    In nuetral the bike runs well, redlines, etc. Under load at high RPM (which is the only place I want to keep it running) it just goes blaaaaahhhhhhhh.... still stays running, but no power. I have run every possible jet set up with it and it still happens (granted, it was always in the wonderful NH "sunshine"/rain).

    I am wondering if the points are just not working well at high rpm...those flippin' springs. I am just going to install an electronic ignition with dyna coils and see how that works. If it still runs like crap...I think it may be something internal or spiritual (my karma is like crap these days)...lol.

    Pete

    Yeller'
    ---
    Ask not what the wanker can do for you, but what you can do for your wanker!
    Not sure what blaaaaahhhhhh indicates. I suppose you could say it's the same problem as Johnny Gaijin has.
    I was thinking fuel supply, thus float level, on his because of the condition of running ok under no load, but losing power and dying under load. I've seen that condition on a freind's racebike and it was verified that the bike was running out of gas under load. This can be verified by checking the bowl for fuel when the symptom occurs (shut the fuel off when it happens). It could also be a jetting issue leading to the same result, fuel starvation.
    I haven't seen ignition problems like that, but I suppose the advance mechanism could come into play. With points type iggy, the best bet is to start with new, or as you suggest replace with solid state...


    FR


  11. #10
    Senior Member Johnny Gaijin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    seattle, washington, .
    Posts
    108
    the floats appear to be set correctly. the springs on the advance unit (mechanism? whatever you call that thing.) seem kind of weak, they don't really snap back into place like i imagine they should... also the rubber boots on arms of the advance are pretty worn out and the arms have a lot of free play in them. a lot more wiggle than i would imagine is right. so i'll probably replace that and see what happens.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Idle Hanging
    By TSwami in forum Technical
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 07:41 PM
  2. CB 360 idle issues
    By tcmoney in forum Technical
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-14-2011, 12:02 AM
  3. Honda CB 360 won't idle!!!!!!!!!!
    By tcmoney in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 05:27 PM
  4. HIgh Idle once again
    By indefinite in forum Technical
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 08:14 PM
  5. idle trouble
    By Johnny Gaijin in forum Technical
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 06:31 PM