Honda CB125 twin 1985 suspensions
Close

This is a discussion on Honda CB125 twin 1985 suspensions within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hi guys, so I just bought a Honda and I wanna turn it in a cafe racer I do prefer the twin suspension instead of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hi guys, so I just bought a Honda and I wanna turn it in a cafe racer I do prefer the twin suspension instead of a monoshock suspension and I was wondering if any of you did the conversion before and if there is any tricky part or if it’s even possible cuz honestly I don’t know anything about it
    It’s my first project I’m 21 but I’ve been working in a garage for the pass 2 years so I guess I have a little experience but I’m still a bit scared of starting 😂

So yuh if anyone have anything to say to help me or if anybody did this before pleas fill me in

Get the bike running properly and safely and learn to ride and maintain it. You obviously know nothing about bikes so you need to start at the beginning.

Maybe some moron has done it but conversions from mono to dual shock makes no sense. Stop looking at pictures of "cafe racers", the vast majority are an assemblage of bad ideas.

To be fair the shock on them is shit, decent twin shocks should make it handle better but you'd have to seriously beef up the subframe, and work out, properly the geometry. If you're doing that you need to sort out the front forks, they're shit too.

It's pretty pointless prettying or trying to get more performance out of a 125, especially one that 30+ years old and was cheap then.

My first bike was a '84 CB125TDC, I had to get the forks re-chromed, the cylinders rebored, lined and had oversized pistons. It was still shit.

For how much it'll cost you, you might aswell get something that's already what you want or, as above spend time maintaining it and getting the best out of it, then move on.

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements