Universal muffler installation
Close

This is a discussion on Universal muffler installation within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hey all. I've been having a bit of a pain in installing a universal muffler on an 80s airhead. I feel a bit like a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Universal muffler installation

Hey all. I've been having a bit of a pain in installing a universal muffler on an 80s airhead.
    I feel a bit like a noob here, as I've done plenty of other mods to the bike..but I'm not sure the correct way to install and I've had no luck in googling.

I have a set of these
    https://www.caferacerwebshop.com/en/...lat-black.html

The diameter of the pipe is significantly less than the diameter of the cone inlet.
    They've included some inlet inserts, but I'm not sure if I should nest them (inside one another) or what the best way is to install.
    Are they meant to go inside the cone or outside?

Even clamping down all the way, I've found that I can easily slip the cone right off.
    I'll figure this out eventually, but I expect that I'm just being a dumbass and someone can tell me how it's done here.

Thanks!

jcw
    Spam...

Quote Originally Posted by jcw View Post
    Spam...
    You think so? But he kinda slammed the universal product for not really being universal so that would be negative advertising :| I'm confused.

Asbestos wrap would work perfect but your bike would become a toxic waste site, fibreglass cloth and some muffler or chimney cement, I've used that as a cheap muffler gasket before.

4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements

Buy a muffler that fits the pipe, those adapters are shit and won't seal.

Or... find a muffler shop that will make an adapter that fits the ID of the muffler on one end and the OD of the pipe on the other. They can slot the end of it that fits over the pipe. Then have that TIG welded to the muffler, it won't destory the chrome.