Suzuki GT500 wheel swap front & rear
Close

This is a discussion on Suzuki GT500 wheel swap front & rear within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; Hi all, what a great resource this is! Sorry if some of the questions seem a bit dumb but I'm not that technical. I have ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By MalkyB

Thread: Suzuki GT500 wheel swap front & rear

Hi all, what a great resource this is! Sorry if some of the questions seem a bit dumb but I'm not that technical.

I have the urge to swap out the front & rear wheels from my GT500 from spoked to alloys but.....what's going to fit?? Anyone done this before???

It looks as though a GPZ550 may fit 185x19 with 15mm axle but do I have to buy the wheel to find out???? The GPZ is twin disc - do I then have to fit the forks from a GPZ or similar to carry the extra disc and what happens with the speedo drive...is this going to be compatible???

As for the rear....I just hate drums so would really like a disc back there - not because they work better (anyone ridden a vtwin Tuono will know dragging your feet is better than that disc set up) but I just hate working on drums...!

Any advice gratefully received

If you want a modern rolling chassis and a Suzuki Titan motor, there comes a point where you might as well start searching for a modern style rolling chassis and just attempt to transplant the two-smoke motor into it.

Your preference for mags over spokes is um, unusual. I'm pretty sure you can find some mags to fit it if that's what you really want, but don't expect things to be simply bolt on compatible, there are so many variables between bike makes and models for that to be anything more then luck. Normally riders would fit different rims to run better tires, changing the rims to mags that run the same size tires isn't going to buy you much of anything other then the ability to run a tubeless tire slightly easier.