12v dc power, what line to tap into?
Close

12v dc power, what line to tap into?

This is a discussion on 12v dc power, what line to tap into? within the Technical forums, part of the Caferacer.net Forums category; i know youre all tired of me posting things about the acewell i bought... im tired of it taking so long to hook up! i ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member txchainsawgogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    austin, texas, .
    Posts
    888

    12v dc power, what line to tap into?

    i know youre all tired of me posting things about the acewell i bought... im tired of it taking so long to hook up!

    i got it to power on only when it was in park. so, that doesnt do me any good.

    what wire would you/have you cut into to power your digital nonsense?

    i just want it to atleast power on when it should so i can go from there.
    honk if youre horny.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pampadori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Richmond, Va., USA.
    Posts
    1,523
    why are you putting your bike in "park"?

    do you have a test light? you need to use a test light and probe a wire that turns on the test light when you have the key set to on only. test lights are like $9 from radio shack or make your own with a 12v bulb and some wire. or better yet, use a volt meter.
    http://www.slingshotcycles.com
    Stainless braided brake lines and other odds and ends.
    Enter coupon code "caferacer" during checkout for 15% off

  3. #3
    Senior Member pampadori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Richmond, Va., USA.
    Posts
    1,523
    why are you putting your bike in "park"?

    do you have a test light? you need to use a test light and probe a wire that turns on the test light when you have the key set to on only. test lights are like $9 from radio shack or make your own with a 12v bulb and some wire. or better yet, use a volt meter.
    http://www.slingshotcycles.com
    Stainless braided brake lines and other odds and ends.
    Enter coupon code "caferacer" during checkout for 15% off

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member txchainsawgogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    austin, texas, .
    Posts
    888
    my ignition switch has three settings, in ''on'' the acewell doesnt turn on but when you turn the key to park...it does.
    honk if youre horny.

  6. #5
    Senior Member txchainsawgogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    austin, texas, .
    Posts
    888
    my ignition switch has three settings, in ''on'' the acewell doesnt turn on but when you turn the key to park...it does.
    honk if youre horny.

  7. #6
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,568
    There should be a larger diameter wire off the ignition switch that is live all the time. Use this for your "live" wire (clock). Either that, or run a new wire straight from the +ve terminal on the battery (probably put an in-line fuse on that).

    As far as the "on" setting goes, you'll need to find the return from your ignition switch. Usually it's either red or brown.

  8. #7
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,568
    There should be a larger diameter wire off the ignition switch that is live all the time. Use this for your "live" wire (clock). Either that, or run a new wire straight from the +ve terminal on the battery (probably put an in-line fuse on that).

    As far as the "on" setting goes, you'll need to find the return from your ignition switch. Usually it's either red or brown.

  9. #8
    Senior Member txchainsawgogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    austin, texas, .
    Posts
    888
    i run a yuasa mini battery thats like 4ah... should i really bother using the clock? i wouldnt want to run down the battery.
    honk if youre horny.

  10. #9
    Senior Member hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
    Posts
    6,568
    quote:Originally posted by txchainsawgogi

    i run a yuasa mini battery thats like 4ah... should i really bother using the clock? i wouldnt want to run down the battery.
    The clock is just an LCD - it would take about 2 years to run your battery down.

  11. #10
    Senior Member txchainsawgogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    austin, texas, .
    Posts
    888
    quote:Originally posted by hillsy

    quote:Originally posted by txchainsawgogi

    i run a yuasa mini battery thats like 4ah... should i really bother using the clock? i wouldnt want to run down the battery.
    The clock is just an LCD - it would take about 2 years to run your battery down.
    well sir, that sounds like a risk im not willing to take.


    kidding.
    honk if youre horny.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. more power
    By patlschr in forum Technical
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 12:18 PM
  2. Power from coils...
    By Big Bad Bob Dog in forum Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2010, 05:53 PM
  3. Seems way out of line
    By magnetoczar in forum General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 11:37 PM
  4. power wheelie!!!
    By coreyjdl in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 12:15 PM
  5. I Have No Power
    By sxecafe in forum Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 04:59 PM

Search tags for this page

tap into a 12v electrical line

,

what is a dc nine tap

Click on a term to search for related topics.