CB500T Ignition Switch / Lockset
Close

CB500T Ignition Switch / Lockset

This is a discussion on CB500T Ignition Switch / Lockset within the Wanted forums, part of the Classifieds category; I'd even take just the switch (have to be in good shape though), but would prefer the helmet lock too....

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member KrooklynCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Krooklyn, New York, USA.
    Posts
    70

    CB500T Ignition Switch / Lockset

    I'd even take just the switch (have to be in good shape though), but would prefer the helmet lock too.


  2. #2
    Senior Member 736cafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    chicago, il, .
    Posts
    347
    does it have a round plug?

    scott from chicago
    ahrma #527

  3. #3
    Member KrooklynCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Krooklyn, New York, USA.
    Posts
    70
    it's specific to only the 500Ts that's what make them so rare. i've attached a link to an online 'fiche. click on the link, then look under speedo/tach. if it's not a 500T switch i don't think it will work.
    http://www.yamahaoftroy.com/fiche_se...1975&fveh=2938


  4. Remove Advertisements
    CafeRacer.net
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member UngaWunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Raymond, NH, USA.
    Posts
    8,388
    I picked up a new one from DennisKirk for my CB450. Shop around, I think K&L makes replacements.






  6. #5
    Member KrooklynCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Krooklyn, New York, USA.
    Posts
    70
    the 500Ts are different than the 450s...they're in between the gauges, not on the frame like the 450. here's a link to an eBay auction of exactly what I'm looking for
    http://cgi.ebay.ca/NOS-Honda-Ignitio...QQcmdZViewItem


  7. #6
    Senior Member ttilghman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orange county, ny, .
    Posts
    1,735
    >>an eBay auction of exactly what I'm looking for<<

    uh...looks like you found it.

    but it also looks like some spares i have for a 400F. if you check and find that they're the same, let me know.

    best. tt


  8. #7
    Member KrooklynCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Krooklyn, New York, USA.
    Posts
    70
    no, the auction ended a while ago. emailed the guy and he doesn't have it anymore.
    400F won't work...doesn't have the mounting holes for the ignition to screw into the upper triple tree...



    Edited by - KrooklynCB on Oct 14 2006 5:27:27 PM

  9. #8
    Senior Member ttilghman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orange county, ny, .
    Posts
    1,735
    ...just went out and looked. it kinda seems the 400F switch is the same. there's a bit of a cut-out in the top clamp for the switch tube, then it's mounted up into the bottom of the clamp with two bolts. i'm not sure that it has the flange on either side like the one on the old ebay auction though? i'm happy to send it/ride it down if you think there's a chance it'll fit, or if you feel you can adapt it. or let me know if you think it's worth taking measurements and pics. i have two spare, so you're welcome to one.

    let me know what you think.

    later-tt


  10. #9
    Member KrooklynCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Krooklyn, New York, USA.
    Posts
    70
    the 400f switch i don't think will work...a couple of reasons: 1. i don't think it mounts to the bottom of the top triple tree like the 500T's. (500T's other 2 small threaded holes are for the instrument panel to screw into) 2. the 500T's also got a retaining clip that goes around the base of the switch. if it looks like this
    http://cgi.ebay.com/HONDA-CB400-CB90...QQcmdZViewItem
    it won't work. b/c i already tried one just like this...i appreciate u looking though.


Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. which relay for ignition switch?
    By jackshite in forum Technical
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-31-2012, 11:08 AM
  2. Early 80's Suzuki Ignition Switch
    By Hellions in forum Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 11:28 PM
  3. Location of Honda CB360 Ignition switch?
    By shidifen in forum Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 03:22 PM
  4. Wiring an Ignition Switch
    By ZouLou in forum Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 09:43 AM
  5. ignition problem cb750 w/ martek ignition
    By pampadori in forum Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 06:40 PM