Cafe Racer Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I am new here, here are some pictures of my current build. Frame is 175cc Honda and front is girder fork. I am thinking to swap a 400cc V engine in it.

Pls share your expert opinion.

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
I'd love to find a girder fork for my latest 250 project.

No expert opinions on that one though. Insert typical replies about rear suspension travel and front end geometry just to get things started I guess?

Oh, yeah, welcome to the forum and stuff like that too.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am still confused to go for vtwin 400 or 250.. As I have both engine's available at the moment. And this is my first project...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Front end is off from an early 40s triumph 3hw.

I know it's going to be a testing / long project.. Will be sharing updates here.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Desmo already mentioned it but there will be a few things that will be reoccurring as a theme here.
The main question is the end result you want. Is this going to be a rider to put genuine miles on or is it more for shows and showing off?

Nothing wrong with either as long as you are under no illusions on what you are building or trying to pass it off as.

Practically speaking though from what i can see:

You're rear tyre will contact that rear loop in operation. Think about how you are going to solve that and how the solution may effect geometry.

The front forks are a very neat bit of history but aren't as good as the ones that would have came with the bike originally. Essentially a downgrade in performance.

The engine swap in theory is obviously doable. But then you are increasing the horse power through a chassis with downgraded breaking and suspension. Which is sub optimal.

·
Registered
7,206 Posts