Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey first time posting on here. My name is Mike and I'm 21. I'm located in VA(NOVA) and would like any suggestions/help from you guys. Just getting into building/rebuilding motorcycles, so I have little knowledge about it right now, but been looking up/researching alot. Hoping to build this by spring of next year, so I can take her out on the road. Bought a 74' Honda 360 for what I thought was a reasonably good price. The good: Run decently well(start first time), all lights work, tank has been resealed/cleaned, clean carbs, new battery(but electric start won't work), brake and tires are in good condition. The bad: In rough shape(rust on forks, exhaust, handlebars, spokes,and anywhere I can imagine), leakage in exhaust(causing to backfire and smoke a little, but nothing that effects how the engine runs),horn doesn't work, need mirrors, electric start won't work, gas tank has some rust and dents. I'll be taking apart all the things one day at a time. Here is the progress so far. Will update as much as I can and hello to all.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Interesting cactus seat.

Riding experience, and skill sets? Know when tight is too tight? Etc.

Any other bikes? Nothing worse than a bike in a million pieces and you want to go for a ride.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah, still got some thorns on my ass. and as for riding experience, I started to ride about 7 months ago. my first bike was a suzuki gz250 and I'm still learning.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Wrenching experience?

My advice, seriously, service it to the 9's. Get everything working as well as possible. Make sure nothing has seized or will cause a mechanical failure.

Buy some avon road runners or the ditch finder bridgestone BT45's then ride it until you have learned how to ride it well. Your suspension is only holding the bike up now and will be next to usless by the way.