Cafe Racer Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I'm fairly new to the whole bike thing, so I thought it was a good idea to register here and try to keep up with all the advice.
I bought a 1977 Honda cb750f earlier this month and gradually want to change a couple of stuff. This week I noticed 2 of my 4 connections between my air filter and carburator were badly connected. The rubbers didn't slide to the end. I thought it would be the easiest if I loosen them all and connect them all one by one. Off course this didn't work... I can't seem to connect them. Anyone have any tips?

View attachment 17004 View attachment 17002 View attachment 17003

Attachments

·
Registered
2,107 Posts
Loosen the air box, remove the bolts if you have to. That will give you a bit of wiggle room. Spray a bit of wienerschlippen on the boots. If they are deformed from being squished, you will need to use something from your tool box to help work the edge of the boot over the carb don't use anything sharp. Warm them up with a hair dryer if it's cold out. Don't spray the wienerschlippen and use the hair dryer at the same time.

Second glance at the photos. You'll need to remove the air box to reinstall the boots into the box.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
first things first - are the boots hard? If they are go boil them in a mix of wintergreen oil and water - this will soften them up again for a while. Typically the boots shrink over time which is why nearly every cb750 you see with a stock airbox will have an ill fitting pair of air intakes.

First off get the part number off the airbox and look up to make sure you have the correct one. I believe it is embossed on one of the sides of unit. Because of the change in carbs from 69-76 to 77-78 there are two different ones.