Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1978 honda hawk 400 i lost the key so it sat for about 10 months. i drained the gas charged the battery and it ran good before now when i hit the start it does nothing. i am not a mechanic was just hoping it might be an easy fix. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. i have the kickstand up tried to kick start it but nothing kick starter goes all the way down just wont start

·
Registered
5,882 Posts
Do you own a multi-meter tester and have any idea how to use it?
Start with a bad ground or resistance in a positive electrical circuit where it should not be.
...or did you just forgot about some safety switch, clutch?
Mouse damage? check your air box.
Do you have the electrical diagram for the bike? OEM service manual even better.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for your reply i dont have a tester. put a new
ignitiom switch in had to take off the head light would there be a ground there i might have dissrupted?where would a safety switch be located?the kill switch on the right handlebar i have tried in all positions and i have pulled the clutch in.sorry dont know alot about repairs.

·
Registered
5,882 Posts
Schematic wiring diagram is your best reference, did you just take it apart and put it back together?
Lots of things have grounds starting with everything that has to be rubber mounted like light bulbs.
Or even handle bars if they are rubber mounted and need ground for switches, too many possibilities, everything is on the wiring diagram including safety switches. Start there.

I don't know how anybody could own a motorcycle for long without learning some mechanics, pretty sure it can not be done. Basic electrical testing is an excellent start.

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
There is no ground in the headlight but everything need to be properly connected in there.