Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I'm fairly new at all this, but I've been lurking around for a while.

My querry is this:

The CB650. Good, Bad, Ugly? I've read that it had attrocious electrical problems, mostly relating to the charging system malfunctioning in the stator area. Anyone know a fix, such as swapping for a different component or modding the existing?

Also, I've read that this bike is very similar to the CB500/550. If this is the case, would that mean some of the Café accesories that fit the 5's fit the 650? If not, then it would just mean modding or fabricating stuff but that can get pricey, and I'm just a poor college student looking for a cheap bike to café.

The reason I'm asking is because someone in my area is selling one for 800$ and that's pretty much right in my price range :)

Any other info or tips about the 650 would be much appreciated, as I'm quite the noob.

Thanks a lot,

Trevor

Road Trip!

Edited by - trefmawr on Feb 28 2006 02:43:56 AM

·
Registered
896 Posts
buy a 500 or 550 for that price and have something that will last you and be more desirible down the road.....personally not a fan or the 650....

Ride Fast and Take Chances

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
The cb650 is a good solid UJM (Universal Japanese Motorcycle) and could be good cafe fodder but I think you are a little misplaced in your thinking about it.

the only thing a cb650 shares with a cb500/550 is the engine mounts. This makes the 650 engine popular to swap into the older 500/550 frames because the 650 made just shy of 50 hp (I think it is like 45) whereas some of the 500s were lucky to crack 30hp. Everything else from a 650 will not interchange with a 500/550 (well maybe the wheels) so don't assume that things for the cb500/550 will work on the redesigned frame.