Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been lurking forever, trying to find a good deal to get into Café Racers. Found this gem on Craigslist, just wondering if you guys thought it was a good deal and how to tell which exact model it is. The guy said he bought a truck from an older gentleman who threw in the motorcycle in the bed of the truck with the deal. He said it doesn't turn on but he has never touched motorcycles and has no idea what's wrong. GET THIS. He told me to make him and offer, and I got him to agree to $100. Tell me that this is a good deal and how I can tell whether this is a 550/750 etc.
Also, anything specific I should look for? I'm a 20yr old amateur car mechanic, never worked on motorcycles but my dad has.

He said it is a 1980 Suzuki and that's all he knows.
Pics: 00L0L_euM5mqD6BEE_1200x900.jpg 00g0g_jSJuclhuaMH_1200x900.jpg

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
How hard is it to get a title in your state? Get that taken care of before putting another dime into it.

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
$100 for a titled frame isn't terrible...

The motor is highly suspect, who knows how long it's sat without headers - leaving the cylinders open to the elements.

If I bought, I'd get a running GS1000 motor and drop that in it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
$100 for a titled frame isn't terrible...

The motor is highly suspect, who knows how long it's sat without headers - leaving the cylinders open to the elements.

If I bought, I'd get a running GS1000 motor and drop that in it.
Any ideas on where to find a running motor?

·
Registered
23,302 Posts
It wouldn't be a good deal if he paid you $100 to take it. Its a parts bike at best.