Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Last weekend one of my friends moved out and realized that in the back of his garage he had two 1980s era suzuki gs450's. One is all original, the other is a rolling frame with mostly updated electronics (indeed some sketchy wiring, ill add pictures when I can). He gave them both to me for free, so while I have little to no experience working on motorcycles I do own and have done countless repairs on my 1984 seadoo sp jetski so I have some mechanical experience. I know jetskis and bikes are VERY different, so that why im here. I was told the engine on the complete bike ran at some point, but that's all the info I was given. I started to dig into the bike, and got all electrical to work but the start switch located in the cluster on the handlebars. I can get the engine to turn over by jumping the starter solenoid, but nothing from the switch. I tested the start switch and it seems to have resistance and not when pressed and depressed respectively. II tested it for spark while jumping the solenoid, but got nothing. I got access to the original wiring diagram and I have a repair manual in the mail as I type... I have a multimeter and a lot of time on my hands. I got the carbs cleaned and double checked that the engine was free and would turn over okay. All i need is spark, and im trying to start with the start switch as that is early not working. Is there another way to test the start switch (not the stop/run switch)? I read something about a kickstand switch too, but don't think there is one on my bike. Anyways, Im very confused but still have a boatload of hope because this project has cost me a bottle or carb cleaner and a few hours. Also, it was in neutral when I was doing the tests. Any tips on wiring or help in general would be super helpful. I also tested the ignition coils and got good readings on primary side, but got zero resistance on secondary side. I may be tes