Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 1982 Honda CM250 for my first project bike. Where I live its hard to come by CBs or Yamaha XS's, so when i found this little bike for $150 i jumped on it. I was wondering what the difference is between the CM's and the CB's. I know Honda CB's are the traditional cafe racer bikes, so I was wondering if I will be able to purchase CB parts and it will transfer easily to my CM. There arent a lot of Honda CM cafe racer projects out there so its hard to get a feel for how easy it will be to convert it into a cafe racer. Any advice or tips will help since I am new to the cafe racer world.

·
Registered
23,287 Posts
1. British and european bikes are the "traditional" cafe racers. CB hondas used to be the stomping ground of anybody would couldn't afford british, until the hipsters outpriced them.

2. cm hondas are usually the crusier models. Basically you bought a honda rebel before they ever got around to calling it a rebel.

3. trying to do anything with this bike like you want is a good example of chasing good money after bad. Anything is possible it all depends on three things: your skills, talent, and wallet. You would be better off trying to make some sort of hardtail chopper out of it - the bike is 2/3rds of the way there already, all it needs is a weld on hardtail and a sprung saddle.

Is this your first motorcycle? if it is, just ride it. Don't worry about low bars, or fiberglass seats - just try to keep the thing running and riding for a year and try not to die on it.

·
Registered
2,459 Posts
Tuned up and maintained it will take you (slowly) around the world. Just enjoy it for what it is.

·
Registered
830 Posts