Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to bikes. I got a license in Dec of '07 and purchased my first banger two weeks ago. I bought this MF'er for $875.00. It was running and braking well except it had fuel spilling from the carb over flow tube. My guess it was ‘cause the floats and needles were rusted up from the 1/8" of rust I found in the tank. I have already torn it apart in the hopes of giving it some sweet style. Now I’m waiting for parts to come in. If I can stay under 2K with out tearing the engine apart I will be pretty happy for my first bike. If this is something I like as much as I think I will, then once this one is finished and I have a few thousand miles under my ass then I want to rebuild an older 550 from the ground up. Here is what I have done so far:

When I got it home:

Swee Tape grips...available at your local bike shops:

Ripped the can off to put on new indicators. New low rise bars, bar end mirrors, and new grips:

No ugly seat and tank is off to clean:

Stripping the tank:

After 400grit:

I cleaned the tank with Rudy's Zep's Lime Calcium and Rust Remover trick and it worked wonders on the inside. I am waiting on the carb rebuild kits, new gauges and tail light to come in. After that I want to upgrade the brakes (either dual piston calipers or dual disk set up with new braided lines and pads) and paint it. After that it should be a pretty sweet whip to ride around town in and get to work. Let me know what you think and Ill keep the updates flowin’.

RT

·
Registered
204 Posts
Blue and orange honda hawk 400t was my very first bike. sold it to my buddy, his first bike. He sold it to another friend who hit and killed his dog with it, broke his arm and parked it on the same day he bought it. His first and last bike. don't go too crazy with the performance mods, cause i dont think too many exist. Might as well go crazy on the styling though. Good luck

·
Registered
19 Posts