Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
screw it I need to go on a long ride. Friends all ready to go on their big cube twins, problem is the only machine I have registered at the moment is my gt185. She runs like a dream, new lazertech tires, rear shocks, chain, sprockets ect, problem is i'd be doing a 660 Mile round trip from sydney to coffs harbor.

Am I just an idiot for running this thing over 5 thou revs all day for that long? Any special precautions on a little stroker for distance?

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I wouldn't do it. I have no specific knowledge about how long a 185 can bear those revs. Probably longer than I think, so long as the oiling system is working well. But I have an aversion to using the wrong tool for the job.

Do you have a bigger bike that is unregistered? Here in CA, we can get a temporary permit for vehicles that are being moved from one location to another. It's valid only for a day or two. Maybe you could check with your roads department and see if they can give you a temp. permit.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have my brothers t500 running nicely, problem is he's let the registration lapse. It cost around 900 bucks all up to rego the thing as well. No temporary permits I can see.

I would take it, but the ramifications of getting into an accident, or getting caught here are huge.

·
Registered
2,952 Posts
That bike doesn't even reach peak til 7500 rpm. I can't see how 5k rpm all day would be an issue.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Don't get me started on the fees. Everyone over here complains a lot, but they don't actually do anything about it. When they organize a protest ride like they did in melbourne recently, I think only around 100 people showed up and they shot themselves in the foot anyway saying stupid shit to the press. But I digress...

anyone done long distance on a little stroker? moto giro types?

·
Registered
56 Posts