Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the cafe racer world. I am researching and checking out bikes to get. I am thinking about getting a cl350 as a neat little project. Is it against some unspoken law to black out the chrome?? I personally hate chrome but I also dont want to decimate a solid bike. What do you guys think?

·
Registered
7,014 Posts
If you hate chrome do what you want with them. Who are you building it for, you or those who want to force their opinion on how you should do your thing. I'm not a big fan of chrome either, there is little if any on my bike and the pipes are neither black or chrome.

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
What is the best method for painting over chrome? On my Jawa the chrome is just falling off in big pieces, and I would just as soon paint some of the bits until good replacements, or rechroming funds are available. I really like patina but some things are ridiculous, like this Jawa.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
o1marc you're right I'd be building it for myself. I'm not sure what the best method would be. I've never had a bike that had chrome on it. I'm sure I could figure out a way.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
Is it some unspoken rule you must keep chrome? Not really. If you are destroying PERFECT 35-50 year old chrome yeah you are kind of a douche but nothing says you can't find the same part with shitty chrome and paint hat and put it on your bike. The old chrome process is largely gone due to EPA regulation and even new chrome is kind of expensive to get done for small pieces, so perfect old chrome is sought after, if you don't want it someone will pay you for it. Other than that how about you get a facing bike and worry about it then instead of asking navel gazing philosophical question about chrome. Talk about a waste of everyone's time.

why a 350? Couldn't you find a real bike?